Events – Authors, Discussions & More

FoxTale Book Shoppe is THE venue for Authors, Book-Signings, Notice of Special Literary Events and More!

Visit our Events Page on Facebook, too!


Book Launch!  The Unexpected Daughter by Sheryl Parbhoo
Saturday, March 4 at 2:00pm

Sheryl Parbhoo has been a longtime friend and supporter of The REAL FoxTale Book Shoppe and we are delighted to host the launch of her first novel, The Unexpected Daughter! The cover is absolutely stunning and we can’t wait to dive in and read. Join us!

Three people’s lives intersect in a tumultuous yet redeeming way that none of them could have ever predicted. Jenny is a young professional from the South with an upbringing she wants to forget. She meets Roshan, an Indian immigrant who has moved to the United States with his mother, Esha, to escape family ghosts. With strong cultural tradition, Esha has devoted her entire life to her only child, both for his own good and for her personal protection from a painful past. Roshan understands his role as his mother’s refuge, and from an early age, he commits himself to caring for her. But when Jenny and Roshan embark on a forbidden, intercultural relationship, all three get tangled into an inseparable web—betrayal, violence, and shame—leaving them forced to make choices about love and family they never wanted to make while finding peace where they never expected to look.

 


Barbara Davis, Love, Alice
Monday, March 6 at 6:30pm

A customer and fox favorite, Barbara Davis, author of women’s fiction, returns to FoxTale for the third time with her 4th novel, Love, Alice!

The truth lies between the lines…

A year ago, Dovie Larkin’s life was shattered when her fiancé committed suicide just weeks before their wedding. Now, plagued by guilt, she has become a fixture at the cemetery where William is buried, visiting his grave daily, waiting for answers she knows will never come.

Then one day, she sees an old woman whose grief mirrors her own. Fascinated, she watches the woman leave a letter on a nearby grave. Dovie ignores her conscience and reads the letter—a mother’s plea for forgiveness to her dead daughter—and immediately needs to know the rest of the story.


Colleen Oakley, Close Enough to Touch
Tuesday, March 7 at 6:30pm

Held at Room and Board Furniture on Howell Mill Road

close

 

From Author Colleen Oakley:  “Atlanta friends and readers: SAVE THE DATE, Tuesday, March 7, 2017 for the book launch party of CLOSE ENOUGH TO TOUCH! Because we had so much fun last year, we’re headed back to Room And Board Furniture on Howell Mill Road. There will be food, libations, and FoxTale Book Shoppe will be on hand to sell books. Stay tuned for more details! Can’t wait to see you there!”  Reserve your copy today, and pick it up at the event on March 7. Call 770-516-9989 to preorder!

 

 

 

 


Susan Meissner, A Bridge Across the Ocean, Renee Rosen, Windy City Blues & Greer Macallister, Girl in Disguise
Saturday, March 11 at 1:00pm

We’re delighted to welcome back three Fox favorites, Susan Meissner,Renee Rosen Author & Greer Macallister with their latest historical fiction novels.

A BRIDGE ACROSS THE OCEAN by Susan Meissner: Wartime intrigue spans the lives of three women—past and present—in the latest novel from the acclaimed author of Secrets of a Charmed Life.

February, 1946. World War Two is over, but the recovery from the most intimate of its horrors has only just begun for Annaliese Lange, a German ballerina desperate to escape her past, and Simone Deveraux, the wronged daughter of a French Résistance spy.

WINDY CITY BLUES by Renee Rosen AuthorThe bestselling author of White Collar Girl and What the Lady Wants explores one woman’s journey of self-discovery set against the backdrop of a musical and social revolution.

In the middle of the twentieth century, the music of the Mississippi Delta arrived in Chicago, drawing the attention of entrepreneurs like the Chess brothers. Their label, Chess Records, helped shape that music into the Chicago Blues, the soundtrack for a transformative era in American History.

GIRL IN DISGUISE by Greer Macallister “Electrifying…a rollicking nineteenth-century thrill ride.” Amy Stewart, New York Times bestselling author of Girl Waits with Gun

Inspired by the real story of investigator Kate Warne, this spirited novel follows the detective’s rise during one of the nation’s times of crisis, bringing to life a fiercely independent woman whose forgotten triumphs helped sway the fate of the country.


Rosalind Bunn & Lola Schaefer, STORY TIME
Saturday, March 18 at 11:00am

Join us in welcoming Fox favorite Rosalind Bunn, Author and for the first time at FoxTale, author Lola Schaefer, for a fun story time! There is no charge for the event. Books will be available for purchase and signing for those interested. Thank you for supporting your favorite local indie and our local authors!

 


Very Hungry Caterpillar STORY TIME
Monday, March 20 at 11:00am

 


Dahlonega Literary Festival
March 25 – March 26th

Once again, FoxTale Book Shoppe is delighted to be the official bookseller for the Dahlonega Literary Festival!

We hope to see lots of book lovers this year!

 

 


David Joy & Sheryl Monks in conversation with Ann Hite
Saturday, April 8 at 2:00pm

David Joy, author of the award winning and bestselling Where All Light Tends to Go brings us The Weight of This World. A combat veteran returned from war, Thad Broom can’t leave the hardened world of Afghanistan behind, nor can he forgive himself for what he saw there. His mother, April, is haunted by her own demons, a secret trauma she has carried for years. Between them is Aiden McCall, loyal to both but unable to hold them together. Connected by bonds of circumstance and duty, friendship and love, these three lives are blown apart when Aiden and Thad witness the accidental death of their drug dealer and a riot of dope and cash drops in their laps. On a meth-fueled journey to nowhere, they will either find the grit to overcome the darkness or be consumed by it.


Karen White, The Night the Lights Went Out Book Launch
Tuesday, April 11 at 6:30pm

Karen White, the writing machine, launches her annual stand alone novel, The Night the Lights Went Out, with FoxTale Book Shoppe, and we couldn’t be more excited. More event details and pre-order info to come!

From the New York Times bestselling author of Flight Patterns comes a stunning new novel about a young single mother who discovers that the nature of friendship is never what it seems….

Recently divorced, Merilee Talbot Dunlap moves with her two children to the Atlanta suburb of Sweet Apple, Georgia. It’s not her first time starting over, but her efforts at a new beginning aren’t helped by an anonymous local blog that dishes about the scandalous events that caused her marriage to fail.


Leanne Vogel of Healthful Pursuit, The KETO Diet
Wednesday, April 12 at 6:30pm

Leanne Vogel, the voice behind the highly acclaimed website Healthful Pursuit, brings an entirely new approach to achieving health, healing, weight loss, and happiness through a keto-adapted lifestyle with The Keto Diet: The Complete Guide to a High-Fat Diet.

For too long we’ve blamed dietary fat for weight gain and health problems. The truth is, a diet that’s high in natural, healthy fats can actually help your body burn fat! That’s the secret behind the ketogenic diet. As you get more of your calories from healthy fats and cut back on carbs, you’ll start burning fat, losing weight, and feeling strong and energetic—without feeling hungry or deprived.

 


Randy Susan Meyers, The Widow of Wall Street
Monday, April 24 at 6:30pm

Excited to welcome Randy Susan Meyers Author for her third visit to FoxTale! We just adore Randy, her husband and her writing of course! Last time Randy visited, she assisted in pouring ice over the Foxes as part of the then popular ALS Ice Bucket Challenge!

A provocative new novel by bestselling author Randy Susan Meyers about the seemingly blind love of a wife for her husband as he conquers Wall Street, and her extraordinary, perhaps foolish, loyalty during his precipitous fall.

Phoebe recognizes fire in Jake Pierce’s belly from the moment they meet as teenagers. As he creates a financial dynasty, she trusts him without hesitation—unaware his hunger for success hides a dark talent for deception.

 


Wendy Wax, One Good Thing
Wednesday, April 26 at 6:30pm

It’s always a fun time when Wendy Wax joins us at FoxTale! The girls are back along with Wendy. Plus, we’ll have light refreshments including yummy Sno-ball treats!

From the USA Today bestselling author of Sunshine Beach, a story of four women trying to rebuild more than their lives…

Before you can fix it up, you might have to tear it down…

Embroiled in a battle to regain control of their renovation-turned-reality TV show, Do Over, Maddie, Avery, Nikki, and Kyra find themselves holding tight to the frayed ends of their friendship and relationships.

 


Colleen Oakley, Kimberly Belle & Susan Sands, Independent Bookstore Day 2017
Saturday, April 29 at 2:00pm

 

Colleen OakleyKimberly S. Belle & Susan Sands join us for Independent Bookstore Day 2017

 

 

 


Anna Schachner, You and I and Someone Else: A Novel
Saturday, May 6 at 2:00pm

We’re delighted to welcome Anna and her debut novel to FoxTale!
Anna Schachner has published short fiction in many journals and
magazines, including Puerto del Sol, Ontario Review, and The Sun, and she contributes articles about books and literary culture to publications such as The Guardian and AJC. Originally from North Carolina, Schachner lives in Atlanta, Georgia, where she is the editor of Chattahoochee Review.

Our author friend Joshilyn Jackson says, “You and I and Someone Else is both a lyrical, bittersweet love song to the South and a careful study of love itself, using that recognizable—but in Schachner’s capable hands, amazingly fresh—territory of the family. In Frannie’s world, love is not a birthright; it must be learned. I cried when Schachner’s characters failed and cheered when they succeeded, having felt their epiphanies as if they were my own. This is a book that redefines parenthood and responsibility, and does so unapologetically. I admire it for its insight, its sly humor, and its careful, hopeful heart. Make this your next read.”

 


Kimberly & James Dean, Pete the Cat and the Cool Cat Boogie STORY TIME
Saturday, May 13 at 11:00am

We’re kicking our weekly Story Time up a notch in celebration of Pete the Cat and the Cool Cat Boogie! Pete the Cat will be at FoxTale!! More details to come!

 

 

 


Lisa Wingate, Before We Were Yours Book Launch
Tuesday, June 6 at 6:30pm

Lisa Wingate Reader’s Circle is back with her first hardcover release and a brand new, yet old, publisher. We always love having Lisa at FoxTale!

Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.

Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family’s Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge—until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children’s Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents—but they quickly realize that the truth is much darker. At the mercy of the facility’s cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together—in a world of danger and uncertainty.